Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling

I was sitting in a silent library and struggling to keep it together, stifling my laughter and covering it with forced coughs. Finally I lost it. There were tears streaming down my face as I gasped for air through the manic fit. I scrambled to gather my things and get out the door with a shred of dignity, promising myself to never take this book out in public again.

Mindy Kaling is hilarious. She’s smart, but she doesn’t seem to care if that’s lost on us as long as we find her funny. It was a made up email in a chapter which imagined what her life would be if she hadn’t made it in Hollywood where I broke down; a message to colleagues with directions to her apartment. The situation was stupid, spectacularly so, but the humor was brilliant.

If you’re looking for an autobiography in the traditional sense, this hodgepodge collection of personal essays should take a backseat to Kaling’s first book Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? At the expense of an arching narrative, however, Why Not Me? is a comedic triumph. I advise you read it in the privacy of your home.

Jules & Wilde Rating: ★★★★

Buy the book: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, IndieBound

Similar suggestions: One More Thing: Stories and Other Stories by B. J. Novak, The Diary of a Nobody by George and Weedon Grossmith, The Worst Date Ever or How it Took a Comedy Writer to Expose Africa’s Secret War by Jane Bussmann

Leave a Reply

