Soulmate Scent

My best friend had just arrived home on leave after months of deployment. We ran toward each other and he picked me up and spun me around in a hug. A passerby yelled “kiss her!” He’s gay and happily married; we laughed instead. After we recovered he smiled and said “you smell like you”.

Scent creates the strongest memories. Woodsmoke takes me back to winters in my childhood home, fresh strawberries are summer days, and sea mist is vacation. I’ve always loved the idea of having one perfume that becomes a part of your identity. My grandmother, the single most elegant woman I have ever known, wore the same eau de parfum every day of her adult life and I am reminded of her every time I pass someone wearing it.

Four years ago I discovered my own soulmate scent in a Vogue ad. I’d always thought that all of those magazine samples smelled the same (vaguely of new car), but this one stood out to me. It was almost more like men’s cologne than perfume. I tore the page out and saved it for a year before I finally bit the bullet and bought my first bottle of Coco Mademoiselle.

I adore this perfume. It makes me feel strong and feminine; it makes me feel like me. May everyone be so fortunate—may you find your one and only. When you do, I wish you a long and happy life together.

P.S. Have you found your soulmate scent? Do tell!

One Comment

Leave a Reply

